Yearly Archives: 2012


Due to the recent hiccup with our emails we have taken the opportunity to set up a new email address to match the website name.  Our new address is

The committee would like to wish all our members a Merry Christmas and look forward to seeing you in the new year.


What a great attendance at the recent AGM.  A big thank you to all those members who attended and to those who volunteered for a position, listed below.  2013 is looking to be bigger and better with the number of members willing to volunteer.

Overview of AGM:  Fees will remain the same as last year at $220.  Junior uniforms will change at the beginning of 2014 season to match the dress currently worn by seniors.   Sign on date was set down for 3rd February (details to follow).

  • 2013 New Committee
  • President:  Chery Turner
  • Treasurer:  Sharon Myers
  • Secretary:  Michelle Roberts
  • Registrar:  Chelsea Saldumbide
  • Coaching Convenor:  Di Bensley
  •             Coaching Committee:  Erin James
  • Umpiring Convenor:  Sharon Serow
  •             Umpiring Committee:  Emily Turner
  • Uniform Convenor:  Pam Mansfield
  •             Uniform Committee:  Deb Fearon
  • General Committee:
  •             Danelle Spasojevic
  •             Roxanne Dyer
  •             Anne Hillard
  •             Annette Leaso
  •             Amanda Curran
  •             Lynda Simpson


Rangers AGM is being held tomorrow night, 29 November 2012, 7.00pm at WDNA Club House.  Hope to see you all there!


Congratulations to Rangers 3 who took out the Grand Final tonight in convincing style, defeating Centenary.  They lead from start to finish and were in brilliant form.

Rangers 2 finished at the top of the ladder for the season but were unable to take their form into finals and were knocked out the in the semi final.

Rangers 1 should be congratulated on finishing in third place in Division 1, a very competitive competition.

Rangers 4, had a great season and were the only team that actually took the time to train.  Well done girls!

Anyone interested in the Christmas season should email Rangers on


Notice is hereby given of the Rangers Netball Club Annual General Meeting:

Date:    29 November 2012

Time:    7.00pm

Venue:  WDNA Clubhouse, Faulkner Park, Graceville


  • Confirmation of previous minutes
  • Business Arising from minutes
  • Treasurer’s Report
  • Committee Reports
  • Election of 2013 Committee – nomination can be made in writing to the Secretary c/ or can be nominated from the floor of the meeting.
  • Fees and dates set for 2013
  • Consideration of new uniform for Juniors

We would ask that anyone wishing to coach in 2013 come along so we can plan for the new year.

We would love to see as many of our members attend as possible.  By attending you do not have to commit to a committee position but we would love to hear your views on how our club is run.

So come along and have your say!


Ranger’s girl, Sarah Blythe (in white), has been keeping up her netball skills by competing at Net Fest last weekend.  Sarah’s team won the top division !!  Other Rangers girls Erin James and Ali Walthall were also enjoying the fun on the Gold Coast.  Great to see our girls keeping fit in the off season!


WDNA are hoping to hold a Mini Night Season Competition for players 15 years and up.  The competition would run for 6 weeks (3/12/12-21/1/13 with 2 weeks off over Christmas and New Year).

Players must have played at WDNA in 2012 – either Day or Night Season.  The cost would be $200 per team ($25 per player in a team of 8).  Remember West have relaxed the fill-in rules so don’t worry if players are not available for all games.  If a fill-in has played with WDNA in 2012 you can have unlimited fill-ins.  Players who haven’t played with WDNA in 2012 can play on 3 occasions.

Interested teams should let us know by 19 October 2012 – just email   Great way to keep up your netball skills and work off those extra Christmas kilos!


This program is for both players and umpire development.  Players born 1997 – 2001.  Squad allocation dates are Saturday 6th & Sunday 7th October 2012.  See attached brochure or WDNA website for further details.  WDNA_DevelopProgram-1


Congratulations to Ranger’s girls (from left) Jess Simpson, Sam Leaso, Stephanie Dyer and Chelsea Jones on reaching the Mount Fanklin Challenge Grand Final in their WDNA representative teams.  It was great to see our girls performing at such a high level!

WDNA Open Team with our Stephanie Dyer started strongly in what turned out to be a nail biting game.  Reminiscent of the Aus v NZ games the Wests girls went down by one goal to Downey Park.

Our girls Sam Leaso, Jess Simpson and Chelsea Jones in the WDNA 19 years team were behind at half time and despite a late surge were unable to claw back the deficit.

Presentation Day

Big turn out on Sunday for Presentation Day – what a great day – trophies, lollies, sausages and cake. What else could we ask for?  Thanks to everyone for making it so much fun!

Not to be out done – Seth Turner tried on the new seniors gift!

Major Awards went to:
Most Valued Teams:

Non Competitive – Rangers 13, 10 Years Div 1– coached by Mick Mansfield
Junior – Rangers 8, 12 Years Div 1– coached by Danelle Spasojevic
Senior – Rangers 3, Intermediate 2–coached by John Fearon

Coach of the Year:  Cameron Craig
Rookie Umpire:  
Caitlin O’Meara & Emily Serow
Volunteer of the Year:  
Andrew Barton
Rising Star:  
Gabrielle Mansfield
Most Valued Junior Player:  
Cherie Smith
Junior Ranger:  
Grace Fearon
Most Valued Senior Player:  
Erin James
Senior Ranger:  
Chelsea Saldumbide
Coaches Choice:

1            Erin James
2            Jess Davy
3            Amanda Hillard
4            Sophie O’Meara
5            Jasmine McCullough
6            Stephanie Arnott
7            Eliza Hannigan
8            Anna Humphreys
9            Natasha Donovan
10            Alanah Jenkins
11            Caitlin Brooks
12            Charlotte Cox
13            Phoebe Barnes
14            Maddison Scott
15            Erin Jones
16            Holly Ridgway
17            Mia Raymond
18            Jessica Allen
19            Mikaela Claudius
20            Abby Douglas
22            Elise Manton